Tourist visas have the opportunity to modify their status through legal channels and continue in the United States without any difficulties.
Driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol is a criminal offense that can have very serious legal consequences. There are a number of ways an experienced defense lawyer can help reduce the consequences you may be facing if you are accused of drunk driving. The charges may be lessened to a lower class of crime, or they can be dropped. If the police find you sitting at the wheel, with the key in the ignition, you could be arrested even if all you have done is to stop at the side of the road, many drivers are surprised to learn that they can be accused of DWI even after only one or two drinks.
You are legally intoxicated in Texas when your blood alcohol concentration reach 0.08%, You are breaking the law as soon as drugs or alcohol affect your driving. Drunk driving can have serious consequences, far beyond legal and financial ones. Too many lives are lost each year because of someone’s decision to get behind the wheel after drinking or using other drugs.
(Class B misdemeanor) – punishable by a fine not exceeding $ 2,000.00,
- Jail time: 72 hours to 180 days,
- Driver’s license suspension: 90 days- 1 year,
- Annual surcharge of as much as $2,000 to keep your license
you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car and attend a DWI intervention or education program.
If you are found with an open container in your car on your first DWI, you may face the following penalties:
- Class B Misdemeanor
- Maximum Fine: Up to $2,000\
- Jail Range: 6 days to 180 days in county jail
- License Suspension: 90 to 365 days
(Class A misdemeanor) – Punishable by a fine not exceeding $ 4,000.00,
- One month to a year in jail upon conviction.
- Loss of driver license up to two years.
(Third-degree felony) – Penalizable with a fine not exceeding $ 10,000.00,
- 2 to 10 years in prison.
- Loss of driver’s license for up to two years
Drunk driving with a child passenger
- You will be charged with child endangerment if you’re driving drunk with children under 15.
- You will be additionally fined up to $10,000.
- You could be put in jail for up to two years.
- You will lose driver’s license for another 180 days.
A person commits an offense if the person, by accident or mistake. while operating an aircraft, watercraft, or amusement ride while intoxicated, or while operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated, by reason of that intoxication causes serious bodily injury to another, “serious bodily injury” means injury that creates a substantial risk of death or that causes serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ.
(Serious crime of the Felony Third Degree) – Punishable by a fine not exceeding $ 10,000.00
Confinement in the State Penitentiary: 2-10 years
License suspension: 90 days-1 year
intoxicated and by reason of that intoxication causes the death of another by accident or mistake.
(Serious crime of the 2nd degree) –These offenses are prosecuted under different code sections than DWI law and expose offenders to much more serious consequences.
- Maximum Fine: Up to $10,000
- Jail Range: 2 to 10 years to life in Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ)
- License Suspension: 180 days to 2 years
Commercial vehicle drivers put us all at risk by driving vehicles that are larger and less maneuverable than passenger vehicles. These characteristics can make them capable of causing serious injury if they are involved in accidents. Commercial drivers are often entrusted with the transportation of hazardous materials or even other people. CDL holders who are found to have driven a commercial vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol are prohibited from driving for one year. If the driver transfers dangerous items, he or she may face a three-year suspension.
Texas’s DWI Implied Consent Laws: Refusing Blood or Breath Alcohol Test
Drivers in Texas are subject to the “implied consent” rule. This means that you consented to a chemical test if law enforcement suspects you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The officer gets to decide which type of test you must take blood or breath. If you refuse, you face consequences, but the officer must respect your choice. BAC testing is mandatory if you are in an accident involving serious injury or death or have a prior DWI conviction with a child in the car.
If you’ve been arrested for DWI in Texas or any other state, get help from an experienced attorney. A DWI conviction—especially one involving physical injuries or repeat offenses—carries serious consequences. So your best bet is to find an attorney who knows the law and your local court system.
It Is Intended That This Article Be Useful And Informative. Legal Issues Often Get Complex And Distressing. Having A Criminal Defense Attorney Means You Can Meet Your Particular Legal Needs, State The Legal Position And Represent You In Court. In Any Case, If You Are In This Kind Of Unwanted Situation You Should Seek Help From An Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney Immediatel
Criminal law attorneys can address your particular legal needs, explain the law, and represent you in court.
Are you a current resident and are thinking about fully
Español Deportation or removal from the USA Even if you